Headlines (BETA) Portal to CMG's Clientele


It’s Oscar Time!

Winning an Academy Award is the most prestigious honor that those in the film industry can achieve throughout their careers. Recognition by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences denotes true talent and success. During March of each year, new men and women are honored for their achievements during the previous calendar year. However, this time is also used to celebrate the accomplishments of past winners, legendary actors and actresses whose performances were so great that they too were awarded with the discipline's top award. CMG Worldwide remembers and commemorates its many clients who have achieved Oscar-worthy success.

Helen Hayes won an Academy Award in 1932 for Best Actress in "The Sin of Madelon Claudet" and for Best Supporting Actress in 1970 for "Airport". Her amazing career spanned over 40 years. She was the first primarily stage actress to win an Academy Award.

Nominated 10 times, Bette Davis received Academy Awards for Best Actress in 1935 for ?Dangerous? and in 1938 for "Jezebel". Often called the "First Lady of the American Screen", she is remembered for her perseverance when breaking into the film world which had for so long been dominated by men. Her accomplishments as an actress served as an inspiration for many that followed her.

Ginger Rogers won an Academy Award for Best Actress in 1940 for her role in "Kitty Foyle". Rogers had an astounding career, earning top success as the highest paid actress during the 1940s. She is most well known for her many films with legendary dance partner Fred Astaire.

Mickey Rooney remains one of the greatest actors of all time, having earned two special awards from the Academy. In 1938, he received a Special Award for bringing to the screen the spirit and personification of youth, and setting a high standard of ability and achievement. In 1982, he received an honorary award, in recognition of his 60 years of versatility and variety of memorable film performances.

Ingrid Bergman won three Academy Awards, Best Actress in 1944 for "Gaslight", Best Actress in 1956 for "Anastasia" and Best Supporting Actress in 1974 for "Murder on the Orient Express". Her honors, given over a period of 30 years, truly represent the magnificence of her film career, which spanned 50 years and produced over 50 films.

Sir Laurence Olivier was also honored three times by the Academy. In 1946, he was given a Special Award for his outstanding achievement as an actor, producer and director in bringing "Henry V" to the screen. He was honored with a Best Actor Award in 1948 for "Hamlet". In 1978, he was given an Honorary Award, recognizing the full body of his work for the unique achievements of his entire career.

In 1961, Sophia Loren won an Academy Award for Best Actress in "Two Women". In 1991, she was given an Honorary Award for her many successes and contributions to film throughout her career. Over the years, Loren has lit up the screen with her inspiring and moving performances.

Walter Matthau won an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor in 1966 for his role in "The Fortune Cookie". This early role led to great success for him throughout the remainder of his career, which spanned 50 years. He continued to use his talent for comedy to bring humor to the screen in many of his roles.

In 1970, Lillian Gish was given an Honorary Award for her many amazing contributions to film throughout her career. Known for her legendary beauty and grace, Gish was intensely committed to her career as actress. Her amazing versatility is demonstrated through her vast work in film, TV and radio.

In 1972, Liza Minnelli won an Academy Award for her role in "Cabaret". Incredibly talented with her acting, singing and dancing abilities, Minnelli has dazzled audiences in film and onstage performances throughout her career, becoming a legendary entertainer.

CMG Worldwide recognizes the outstanding achievements of many on its client roster during Oscar time. On Sunday, March 5, more outstanding individuals will be elected into this elite group of men and women to be honored by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Filed under: Lillian Gish Comments Off

Lillian Gish Prize awarded to director Peter Sellars

Not only was Lillian Gish born in the right era, but she was also born with the ethereal beauty and grace to make her a star in the silent film industry. Her legacy endures today with the Lillian Gish Prize, one of the largest awards in the arts. Progressive and daring opera director Peter Sellars will be honored with this prestigious prize in an awards ceremony on Sept. 29 at the Hudson Theatre in New York. The award, which recognizes the "trailblazers who have redefined their art and pushed the boundaries of excellence in their field", will receive a silver medallion and a $250,000 cash award.

Sellars started his directing career in the early 1980s and began earning recognition for his talents even before his graduation from Harvard. Critical acclaim was bountiful for many of his early projects, including stagings of Mozart's "The Marriage of Figaro", "Don Giovanni" and "Cosi fan tutte" at the State University of New York at Purchase. The innovative productions were later broadcasted on PBS. Recently, Sellars has been involved with projects such as the staging of Wagner?s "Tristan und Isolde" and Osvaldo Golijov's "Ainadamar".

The Lillian Gish Prize recognizes outstanding talents from a spectrum of disciplines. There is no application process and the recipient is not determined through a competition. A Lillian Gish Prize Selection Committee that changes every year chooses the recipient. This year, the committee was chaired by playwright David Henry Hwang.

Established in 1994 by the Dorothy and Lillian Gish Prize Trust, the prize is awarded to "a man or woman who has made an outstanding contribution to the beauty of the world and to mankind's enjoyment and understanding of life." In her will, Lillian Gish stated: "It is my desire, by establishing this prize, to give recipients of the prize the recognition they deserve, to bring attention to their contribution to society and encourage others to follow in their path."

Filed under: Lillian Gish Comments Off