Headlines (BETA) Portal to CMG's Clientele


It’s Oscar Time!

Winning an Academy Award is the most prestigious honor that those in the film industry can achieve throughout their careers. Recognition by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences denotes true talent and success. During March of each year, new men and women are honored for their achievements during the previous calendar year. However, this time is also used to celebrate the accomplishments of past winners, legendary actors and actresses whose performances were so great that they too were awarded with the discipline's top award. CMG Worldwide remembers and commemorates its many clients who have achieved Oscar-worthy success.

Helen Hayes won an Academy Award in 1932 for Best Actress in "The Sin of Madelon Claudet" and for Best Supporting Actress in 1970 for "Airport". Her amazing career spanned over 40 years. She was the first primarily stage actress to win an Academy Award.

Nominated 10 times, Bette Davis received Academy Awards for Best Actress in 1935 for ?Dangerous? and in 1938 for "Jezebel". Often called the "First Lady of the American Screen", she is remembered for her perseverance when breaking into the film world which had for so long been dominated by men. Her accomplishments as an actress served as an inspiration for many that followed her.

Ginger Rogers won an Academy Award for Best Actress in 1940 for her role in "Kitty Foyle". Rogers had an astounding career, earning top success as the highest paid actress during the 1940s. She is most well known for her many films with legendary dance partner Fred Astaire.

Mickey Rooney remains one of the greatest actors of all time, having earned two special awards from the Academy. In 1938, he received a Special Award for bringing to the screen the spirit and personification of youth, and setting a high standard of ability and achievement. In 1982, he received an honorary award, in recognition of his 60 years of versatility and variety of memorable film performances.

Ingrid Bergman won three Academy Awards, Best Actress in 1944 for "Gaslight", Best Actress in 1956 for "Anastasia" and Best Supporting Actress in 1974 for "Murder on the Orient Express". Her honors, given over a period of 30 years, truly represent the magnificence of her film career, which spanned 50 years and produced over 50 films.

Sir Laurence Olivier was also honored three times by the Academy. In 1946, he was given a Special Award for his outstanding achievement as an actor, producer and director in bringing "Henry V" to the screen. He was honored with a Best Actor Award in 1948 for "Hamlet". In 1978, he was given an Honorary Award, recognizing the full body of his work for the unique achievements of his entire career.

In 1961, Sophia Loren won an Academy Award for Best Actress in "Two Women". In 1991, she was given an Honorary Award for her many successes and contributions to film throughout her career. Over the years, Loren has lit up the screen with her inspiring and moving performances.

Walter Matthau won an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor in 1966 for his role in "The Fortune Cookie". This early role led to great success for him throughout the remainder of his career, which spanned 50 years. He continued to use his talent for comedy to bring humor to the screen in many of his roles.

In 1970, Lillian Gish was given an Honorary Award for her many amazing contributions to film throughout her career. Known for her legendary beauty and grace, Gish was intensely committed to her career as actress. Her amazing versatility is demonstrated through her vast work in film, TV and radio.

In 1972, Liza Minnelli won an Academy Award for her role in "Cabaret". Incredibly talented with her acting, singing and dancing abilities, Minnelli has dazzled audiences in film and onstage performances throughout her career, becoming a legendary entertainer.

CMG Worldwide recognizes the outstanding achievements of many on its client roster during Oscar time. On Sunday, March 5, more outstanding individuals will be elected into this elite group of men and women to be honored by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Filed under: Lillian Gish Comments Off
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Trackbacks are disabled.